Happiness

IMG_20130627_232027

Tonight I went to a happiness workshop.

It was run by kikki.K and yes, I did expect that part of the answer to happiness would be to buy more stationery.

I was ok with that, because I have a bit of a thing for stationery, especially Swedish designed stationery.

However, I’m pleased to say that there was also some method in it all and I’m feeling quite motivated about my ‘happiness journey’.

I’m someone who has struggled with happiness. I realised tonight that it’s not even a word I use in the context of my own life. However I’m also someone who has learned the hard way that I’m the one (and the only one) responsible for my own wellbeing (which is the word I prefer to use).

The thing is, I’ve been reading about mindfulness lately (I picked up Ruby Wax’s book at the airport, as well as in several of my friends blogs) and coming across it and aspects of cognitive behavioural therapy in my professional life more commonly than ever before. Of course I know something about mental illness, and more recently CBT, from personal experience. We’ve come such a long way in the last 15 years. Thank goodness!

So I went to the happiness workshop, not only because of the free journal and the special one time only offer of 35% off MORE STATIONERY, but because I thought that the happiness journal could be a tool to use in practicing mindfullness. (You could probably use anything for this, and there’s lots of online resources around now, like the fact sheet on midfulness from the Black Dog Institute. I just like stationery).

After having a play with the journal in the workshop (and that’s the real strength. The workshop makes us start to write in it, rather than take it home and put it on the ‘good shelf’ never to be used) I think I will be able to commit to, and record, a journey of mindfulness. Whether it will make me ‘happy’ is yet to be seen. I’m aiming to just be ok with being me, now.

Oh, and as part of my ‘thimble list’ or ‘list of little things I can do to make me happy’ which we started tonight, I’ve decided to try to take a photo a day on Instagram of things I see that make me smile. (There was a beautiful 365 photo journal on sale but I just know I would never print out the pictures to stick in it).

In 3 months, I’ll let you know if I’ve developed the happiness habit!

2 thoughts on “Happiness

  1. Thanks for sharing Heather. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed the experience and we hope you love the Happiness Journal. We also have a Collaborative Happiness Project on the blog and website here: http://www.kikki-k.com/happiness

    The project runs over a run and we started it in January, but you can join in at any time. We’d love you to share your thoughts on the blog on your happiness and wellbeing journey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

