Day 350. I can’t explain that

Here is a post I wrote for my friend Sarah Keenihan. It’s a little sad …

Science for Life. 365

freddy copy

Yesterday my friend and science-y colleague Heather made me cry.

A few days earlier, we had agreed that she would write a guest piece around science communication for this blog. But then something far more important happened.

Here’s what Heather wrote:

This is not the post I was going to write* for ScienceforLife.365.

But last weekend my son’s guinea pig got sick from pneumonia and died in our arms. It seems like such a little thing in the scheme of things, but it was my son’s first real experience with grief and loss.

As a scientist, I understood all too well what was happening.

My own PhD was on pneumonia in pigs.

I knew Frederick, or Freddy for short, just wasn’t right on Friday night and by Saturday morning I could see that he was working to breathe, and breathing and eating simultaneously was difficult for him. I remembered seeing the…

View original post 289 more words

Leave a Reply

